Inspiration

It is found in everyday life via nature, architecture, Japanese art … Its roots lie in the Renaissance, in history, in period costumes or even an old handbag ….

Patterns

Undeniable, essential : the pattern captures an idea and harmonises it. On tracing paper, it is separated into millimeters, meticulously following the design of a piece to be created. It is the memory of the creative process.

Pattern transfer

First pricked and then transferred to the fabric or material to be embroidered, the pattern is set in keeping with the ancient practice of the embroidery trade.

Materials

Noble as crystal, mother-of-pearl, gemstones, gold or silver leaf and threads…. Delicate as silk or cotton, soft as mink and light as feathers. Bright and shiny as pearls, rhinestones and sequins. Hard as metal, supple as leather and stretchy as silicone…everything can be embroidered.

Creation

The work is always done flat on a mounted frame, respecting clearly defined rules. The hand carefully moves along the canvas on the front and back sides using the needle or Lunéville hook technique. Rigor, precision, patience and strong eyesight are essential traits that, with experience, transform the piece into a unique work of art.

Finished product

The designer, milliner, shoemaker, furrier or tapestry-maker give shape and life during construction or assembly, creating custom-made pieces.

Inspiration

Elle vient du quotidien, elle se nourrit de la nature, de l’architecture, de l’art japonais. Elle prend ses racines dans la Renaissance, l’histoire, les costumes d’époque mais elle sait aussi bien se satisfaire d’un vieux sac à main…

Dessin

Incontournable, indispensable, le dessin précise l’idée, harmonise. Sur calque, il est millimétré et suit méticuleusement le patronnage de la pièce à réaliser. Il est la mémoire du travail de création.

Transfert du dessin

Piqué, transféré sur le tissu ou la matière à broder, le trait est fixé dans le respect des pratiques anciennes du métier de brodeur.

Matière

Nobles comme le cristal, la nacre, les pierres gemmes, le fil et la lame d’or ou d’argent… Délicates comme la soie, le coton, douces comme le vison et aériennes comme les plumes. Brillantes et scintillantes comme les perles, strass et paillettes. Dures comme les métaux, souple comme le cuir et élastiques comme le silicone… tout se brode.

Réalisation

Le travail est toujours réalisé à plat sur un métier monté en respectant des règles bien définies. La main progresse avec soin sur la toile sur l’endroit comme sur l’envers, selon la technique de l’aiguille, ou du crochet de lunéville. Rigueur, précision, patience et bonne vue sont les qualités indispensables qui, avec l’expérience, feront de la pièce une oeuvre unique.

Produits finis

Couturier, modiste, bottier, fourreur ou tapissier donnent forme et vie lors du montage ou de l’assemblage pour créer des pièces sur mesure.